Miranda Lambert and rumored boyfriend Anderson East featured on new album

Southern Family album

When word hit the other day that Miranda Lambert was rumored to be dating fellow musician Anderson East, many people naturally wondered if the two might record together in the future. I’m not sure if that will ever happen, but it turns out the pair are already featured on a new album together.

Okay, not together exactly, but both do have songs on one new album.

‘Southern Family’ (iTunes) is a new compilation album which features songs from some of today’s most talented country artists including Jason Isbell, Jamey Johnson, Miranda Lambert, and Miranda’s rumored new beau Anderson East.

Producer Dave Cobb told Rolling Stone that a friend mentioned the idea of a concept album to him first and that he originally laughed at the idea. But then he got to thinking about it and decided he really wanted to do it.

The concept is Southern family. It’s everybody writing personal songs about their family growing up in the south. And the second bigger concept is taking all these talented artists and putting them all together. Selfishly, I wanted Chris to be on the same record as Jason Isbell, and Morgane to be on the same record as John Paul White or any of the other people who have done it. We got really fortunate and it keeps growing.

It’s about bringing these artists that are right under the surface. I think the Stapletons and Isbell and all these artists are artists that are going to matter in the future. They are legitimate timeless artists and this scene is bubbling right under a lot of people’s ears. It’s strength in numbers of having so many gifted, talented artists together, unify, and make one record for the right reason.

Morgane Stapleton and husband Chris Stapleton’s amazing cover of You Are My Sunshine (watch) also makes an appearance, which is actually reason enough for me to buy the album.

‘Southern Family’ is available for pre-order now and will be available to purchase March 18, 2016.

‘Southern Family’ tracklist:

  1. Simple Song – John Paul White (listen)
  2. God Is a Working Man – Jason Isbell
  3. Down Home – Brent Cobb
  4. Sweet By and By – Miranda Lambert
  5. You Are My Sunshine (with Chris Stapleton) – Morgane Stapleton
  6. Grandma’s Garden – Zac Brown
  7. Momma’s Table – Jamey Johnson
  8. Learning – Anderson East
  9. Settle Down – Holly Williams
  10. I Cried – Brandy Clark
  11. Can You Come Over? – Shooter Jennings
  12. The Way Home – Rich Robinson

More Miranda Lambert news.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trace Adkins announces 2020 The Way I Wanna Go Tour

Country icon Trace Adkins has sold 11 million albums over the last two decades with hits like “You’re Gonna Miss This” and “Every Light In The House Is On” fueling his live shows. With a new album on the horizon, Adkins is taking the music to the people in 2020 on his new tour, The Way I Wanna Go Tour 2020.

Read More »

Blake Shelton Makes Big Announcement

Last night, Blake Shelton took to Twitter to tease fans and let them know a big announcement was coming this morning at 10:00am CDT. With a greatest hits album releasing later this month (October 23rd), a single on the rise, and The Voice renewal already going public, it left us wondering what Blake could possibly have in store.

Read More »