Exclusive: The Doobie Brothers reveal new lyric video for ‘China Grove’ featuring Chris Young

Doobie brothers southbound

Yesterday, November 4, the Doobie Brothers released their new album "Southbound" featuring duets with some of today's biggest country music stars including Blake Shelton, Sara Evans, Toby Keith, the Zac Brown Band, and many more. 

One of the artists featured on the album was Chris Young who sang the band's classic China Grove with them. He recently told Billboard about working with the band, "The Doobie Brothers are one of those legendary bands that no matter your generation, you know their music and can't help but sing and groove along to every song."

"I met Chris in the studio when he came in to do his vocal on the song he's on," lead vocalist Tom Johnston says of Young. "He's a great guy. I had a good time chatting with him and getting to know him."

Check out the new lyric video Chris and the Doobie's recently released for China Grove


Far from being a tribute album, "Southbound" is a collaborative effort that brings together the top names in the country format with current band members Tom Johnston, John McFee, and Patrick Simmons, as well as former Doobie Michael McDonald, who returns to the band for this project. “I’m humbled. I had no idea all these people were into the band,” says Johnston. “Everybody was giving equally of themselves to do this, and it was a collaborative effort. I was blown away.”

Fans can purchase "Southbound" in stores now and also on iTunes and Amazon.

Fans can also catch the Doobie Brothers when they perform on tonight's CMA Awards where they'll be performing with Jennifer Nettles, Hunter Hayes and Hillary Scott from Lady Antebellum. The awards air live on ABC at 8 p.m. EST.

The Doobie Brothers, "Southbound" Track List:

"Black Water" with Zac Brown Band

"China Grove" with Chris Young

"Jesus Is Just Alright" with Casey James

"Listen to the Music" with Blake Shelton and Hunter Hayes on guitar

"Long Train Runnin'" with Toby Keith

"Nobody" with Charlie Worsham

"Rockin' Down the Highway" with Brad Paisley

"South City Midnight Lady" with Jerrod Niemann

"Take Me in Your Arms (Rock Me a Little While)" with Tyler Farr

"Takin' It to the Streets" with Love and Theft

"What a Fool Believes" with Sara Evans

"You Belong to Me" with Amanda Sudano Ramirez of Johnnyswim, and Vince Gill on guitar



Miranda Lambert launching Vegas residency

On the heels of being crowned Entertainer of the Year at the recent Academy of Country Music Awards, where she holds the record as the most decorated artist in ACM history, Miranda Lambert will now celebrate the next chapter in her storied musical journey

Read More »