Texas teen gets help from Nashville legends for new CD


Now this is crazy amazing. 

While most 17 year olds are worrying about getting their first car and what dress to wear to prom, Richmond, Texas native Mary Sarah has spent the last couple of years recording a new album with some of Nashville's greatest legends. 

Ray Price, Dolly Parton, Willie Nelson, Merle Haggard, Lynn Anderson, Tanya Tucker, and Vince Gill are just a few of the big names making appearances in Mary Sarah's upcoming duets CD Bridges, which is expected to be released this April. 

“I never imagined that singing these songs in the Texas Oprys would lead to one day recording them with some of the greatest country legends of our time,” Mary Sarah says. “Working on this album and with these legends has changed my life. Not only did I learn more about traditional country music, it has led me to have a clearer vision of what I want to accomplish in country music.”

Despite being a name you may not know, Mary Sarah is already an old hand at performing by herself as well as on stage with legends. She hit the road with the Kidz Bop production as a singer and dancer when she was 12 and has taken the stage with The Oak Ridge Boys and Willie Nelson, and she counts Ray Price, who recently passed away, as one of her mentors. 

In fact, she recorded a duet of Price's Heartaches by the Number, a hit for the singer back in 1959, with Price himself and it's included in the upcoming album. She's also offering the song as a free download at reverbnation.com. You can listen to the song in the player below. 

This is a young lady I think we're going to be hearing much more about in the very near future. 

You can find out more about Mary Sarah on her website

“Bridges” track listing

  • “Jolene” with Dolly Parton
  • “Crazy” with Willie Nelson
  • “Fightin’ Side of Me” with Merle Haggard
  • “Heartaches by the Number” with Ray Price
  • “What a Difference You’ve Made in My Life” with Ronnie Milsap
  • “Texas, When I Die” with Tanya Tucker
  • “Rose Garden” with Lynn Anderson
  • “Go Rest High on That Mountain” with Vince Gill
  • “Dream On” with the Oak Ridge Boys
  • All I Wanna Do Is Sing My Song” with Freddy Powers
  • “Where the Boys Are” with Neil Sedaka
  • “My Great Escape” with Big & Rich (original song)
  • “I’m Sorry” (solo version of Brenda Lee classic)

This Post Has One Comment

Comments are closed.