Alan Jackson reveals cover and tracklisting for new bluegrass album (from the mailbag)

Alan Jackson The Bluegrass Album
Country music superstar Alan Jackson will release his first bluegrass album –
appropriately titled The Bluegrass Album – on September 24. Jackson
wrote eight songs for the album, which also includes other originals and a
couple of well-known standards of the genre. The Bluegrass Album will
be released on ACR (Alan’s Country Records)/EMI Records Nashville and is
produced by Keith Stegall and Jackson’s nephew, Adam Wright.
Jackson has openly expressed his desire to
record a bluegrass album for years. This spring, a group of some of the best
players and singers in bluegrass came together, emerging in a matter of days
with the completed acoustic album. He enlisted Scott Coney (acoustic guitar),
Sammy Shelor (banjo), Adam Steffey (mandolin), Tim Crouch (fiddle), Tim Dishman
(bass), Rob Ickes (dobro) and Ronnie Bowman and Don Rigsby (vocals).
Originals that Jackson penned for the album
include such titles as “Blacktop,” “Blue Ridge Mountain Song” and “Mary.” Covers
on The Bluegrass Album include The Dillards’ “There Is A Time,” John
Anderson’s “Wild and Blue” and a ¾-time version of Bill Monroe’s seminal “Blue
Moon of Kentucky.”
The Bluegrass Album track listing:
1.) Long Hard Road – Alan Jackson
2.) Mary – Alan Jackson
3.) Appalachian Mountain Girl – Alan Jackson
4.) Tie Me Down – Alan Jackson
5.) Way Beyond The Blue – Mark D. Sanders/Randy Albright/Lisa Silver
6.) Ain’t Got Trouble Now – Adam Wright
7.) Blue Ridge Mountain Song – Alan Jackson
8.) Blacktop – Alan Jackson
9.) Blue Side of Heaven – Alan Jackson
10.) There Is A Time – Rodney Dillard/Mitch Jayne
11.) Wild and Blue – John Scott Sherrill
12.) Knew All Along – Adam Wright/Shannon Wright
13.) Let’s Get Back to Me and You – Alan Jackson
14.) Blue Moon of Kentucky – Bill Monroe